Loving My Chaos

Living an Adventure with EE, Multi Food Allergies and Special Needs Treasures from God!

Oatmeal, Banana, Vegan Waffles for Dinner!

Leave a comment

I thought I would share our favorite Waffle recipe! This recipe has been great for all the occasions for Ed when he has had to use Gluten free flour, or loss of Egg, You name it he has been able to keep this tried and true recipe. HOpe you Enjoy! Would have had pictures but the kids ate them as they were coming out with no syrup so no pictures this time around. Thinking about making them again for breakfast later this week I will try to add them.

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 Cups all- purpose flour ( I use the king Arthur’s whole white wheat. This has no barley which all-purpose does.  Have used all-purpose does fine )

1/4- 1/2 cup of old-fashioned oats

2 Table spoons of sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2  – 3/4 teaspoon Cinnamon (Just depends on my mood most of the  time I don’t measure just stick it in the palm of my hand)

1/4 or nutmeg

1 1/4- 1 1/2 cups coconut milk ( i use the unsweetened but vanilla and original is find too. THis is not in a can! I bet almond milk would be good too, Soy changes the flavor a bit and Rice milk was not our favorite but works)

1 ripe banana ( this is for the egg, I like to use a banana I have frozen and I thaw it out either during the day or in the microwave. They come out looking horrible but are great for this type of recipe. It is a great way also not to waste your banana’s when you don’t feel like making banana bread just pop it in the freezer till when you need it.)

1 teaspoon of vanilla 

2 Table spoons of oil ( I like grape seed oil)

 

Instructions

First you will want to put your oats in a blender and make them into a flour. I like to blend them a bit more than instant looking oatmeal because I love the texture oatmeal gives. THere is no rule on how fine you make them. Next add all the dry ingredients into the bowl and blend them all together.

Then in another bowl you will mash the banana,oil, vanilla together with 1/4 cup of the coconut milk. You want the banana to be mixed throughout. Then add to dry and pour in the rest of the milk to desired texture.

You can either make waffles or pancakes from this batter and they are so GOOD ! I hope you enjoy!

 

 

 

Thoughts???

